Clarke County Board of Supervisors January 2, 2020

The Clarke County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on January 2, 2020 at the Clarke County Courthouse with the following members present: Marvin McCann, Larry Keller and Dean Robins. Also present, Auditor Janice White. Chairman Marvin McCann called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Larry Keller made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Dean Robins. All Ayes.

Res 20-001 –<u>January 2, 2020 Reorganization</u>: Motion by Larry Keller, seconded by Marvin McCann to appoint Dean Robins Chairman for 2020. All Ayes. Motion by Larry Keller, seconded by Dean Robins to appoint Marvin McCann Vice-Chairman for 2020. All Ayes.

The Board will meet every Monday beginning at 9:00 a.m. When there is a holiday on Monday the official meeting will be held the following Wednesday.

Be it resolved by the Board of Supervisors that they will pay expense claims of the county officers, deputies and clerks attending district county officer's meetings and state called school of instructions, for the year in accordance with County policy

The following appointments were made for the year 2020:

- ADA Coordinator: Marvin McCann
- Blood Borne Pathogen Coordinator: Mackenzie Hickenbottom
- Chariton Valley Transportation Planning Affiliation Policy Board: Marvin McCann, Supervisor; Larry Keller, Transit. Alternate, Dean Robins
- Chariton Valley Transportation Planning Affiliation Technical Advisory Committee: Christian Boehmer
- Conservation Board: Larry Keller
- o CROSS Mental Health Region: Marvin McCann
- o Crossroads Mental Health Board: Dean Robins. Alternate, Larry Keller
- DHS Advisory Board: Larry Keller
- o Disaster Coordinator: Dean Robins
- o Disaster Representative: Christian Boehmer
- E911 Regional Board: Shirley Jackson and Dean Robins
- o Emergency Management Commission: Dean Robins. Alternate, Larry Keller
- Fair Housing Coordinator: Marvin McCann
- 5th Judicial District Department of Correctional Services: Marvin McCann. Alternate, Larry Keller
- o Iowa Communities Assurance Pool: Marvin McCann. Alternate, Dean Robins
- o Iowa Regional Workforce Investment Board: Dean Robins. Alternate, Larry Keller
- Juvenile Residential Care Board: Larry Keller
- o Landfill Commission: Marvin McCann. Alternate, Christian Boehmer
- o Leon Decat Governance Board: Larry Keller. Alternate, Dean Robins
- o Medical Examiner: George Fotiadis, M.D. Deputy ME, Marty Duffus
- o Murray Economic Development Board: Dean Robins
- o Official Newspaper: Osceola Sentinel-Tribune
- o R.E.A.P. Committee: Larry Keller. Alternate, Dean Robins
- o Reservoir Commission: Larry Keller. Alternate, Jack Cooley
- o S.E. Iowa Hazmat Board: Marvin McCann. Alternate, Dean Robins
- Safety Loss Control Coordinator: Byron Jimmerson
- o SCICAP, Inc.: Marvin McCann. Alternate, Larry Keller
- SICOG (Executive Board): Marvin McCann
- o Tourism Board for Southern Iowa: Karon Dunbar
- o Transit Advisory Council: Larry Keller. Alternate, Dean Robins
- Whitebreast Watershed Board: J. B. Hamilton

- Workmen's Compensation Designated Medical Provider: Unity Point Family Medicine in Osceola
- Zoning Administrator: Byron Jimmerson

Moved by Marvin McCann, seconded by Larry Keller, to approve the foregoing resolution. Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins, Marvin McCann and Larry Keller. "Nays": None.

Res 20-002 – BE IT RESOLVED BY THE Board of Supervisors of Clarke County, Iowa, that Christian Boehmer, the County Engineer of Clarke County, Iowa, be and is hereby designated, authorized and empowered on behalf of the Board of Supervisors of said County to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance thereof in accordance with plans and specifications in connection with all Farm-to-Market and federal or state aid construction projects in this county.

Moved by Marvin McCann, seconded by Larry Keller to approve the foregoing resolution. Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins, Marvin McCann and Larry Keller. "Nays": None. Signed this 2nd day of January, 2020.

Res 20-003 – The Board of Supervisors met January 2, 2020, to discuss the purchase of right-of-way in Clarke County for the calendar year 2020.

Larry Keller moved to set the current land acquisition price 2 ¹/₂ times the assessed valuation for the purchase of all right-of-way and not to pay reimbursement for removal of fences. Also, to pay \$35.00 per rod for replacement fences.

Motion seconded by Marvin McCann.

Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins, Marvin McCann and Larry Keller. "Nays": None. Signed this 2nd day of January, 2020.

Res 20-004 – Moved by Larry Keller, seconded by Marvin McCann, to approve the following list of 28 residents of Clarke County, Iowa, to be members of the Compensation Commission appointed to assess damages in condemnation proceedings as required by section 6B.4 of the Code of Iowa.

Vote was, "Ayes": Marvin McCann, Larry Keller and Dean Robins. "Nays": None.

City or Property Owners: Jim Hamilton, Osceola; Dale Neas, Osceola; Elvin Soll, Murray; Dennis Doran, Osceola; Leslie Keller, Osceola; and Randy Wright, Woodburn.

Owner-Operator of Agricultural Property; Charles Morgan, Osceola; Linda Bachman, Osceola; Terry Cummings, Osceola; George Dutrey, Woodburn; Harley Pippin, Woodburn; Randy Brown, Osceola; Bob Fluckey, Murray, and Mike Henrichs, Osceola.

Real Estate Salespersons or Brokers: Janice VanWinkle, Woodburn; Betty Craig, Osceola; Judy Moore, Osceola; Ed Buesch, Osceola; Cassie Hessler, Osceola; Paula McClaflin, Osceola; and Brett Smith, Murray.

Others with Knowledge of Property Values by Occupation: _____; Charles Chapman, Osceola; Vicky Halvorsen, Osceola; Rick Oshel, Osceola; Bill Holst, Osceola; _____; Joe Johnston, Osceola, Daleth Halvorsen, Osceola, and Dustin Dodds, New Virginia.

Signed this 2nd day of January, 2020.

Res 20-005 – Whereas, Section of Senate File #373, an act of the 47th General Assembly requires the appointment by the Board of Supervisors for the County Board of Social Welfare to have supervision over old age pension, blind pension, child welfare and relief of the poor.

Now, therefore, be it resolved that the following named persons be appointed as members of the Clarke County Social Welfare Board to serve during the year 2020. Larry Keller (Rep.) Chairman, Marvin McCann (Dem.) Vice Chairman and ______ (No Party) Secretary.

Moved by Marvin McCann, seconded by Larry Keller to approve the foregoing resolution. Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins, Marvin McCann and Larry Keller. "Nays": None. Signed this 2nd day of January, 2020.

Res 20-006 – Moved by Marvin McCann, seconded by Larry Keller, to approve, in accordance with Iowa Code 331.903, Deputy appointments of the County Auditor - Deputy Jessica Graves, Deputy Jill Curnes and Deputy Rachel Paulus; Deputy appointment of County Recorder – Deputy Kelley Luce; Deputy appointments of County Treasurer - First Deputy Jessica Smith, Deputy Brooke Caldwell and Deputy Shelby Hawxby, all for one year, terms ending December 31, 2020.

Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins, Marvin McCann and Larry Keller. "Nays": None. Signed this 2nd day of January, 2020.

Ms. Lynn left at 9:40 a.m.

Having completed agenda items and having no other business, Larry Keller made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Marvin McCann. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 12:00 noon.

Signed: Dean Robins, Chairman

Attest: Janice White, Auditor