## Clarke County Board of Supervisors March 9, 2020

The Clarke County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on March 9, 2020, at the Clarke County Courthouse with the following members present: Dean Robins, Marvin McCann and Larry Keller. Also present, Auditor Janice White, Ed Stoll and Recorder Peggy Cummings. Chairman Dean Robins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Marvin McCann made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Larry Keller. All Ayes.

**Res 19-044** – Moved by Marvin McCann, seconded by Larry Keller, to approve and sign new Shred-it Service Agreement for the Clarke County Office of Department of Human Services.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Marvin McCann and Larry Keller. "Nays": None. Signed this 9<sup>th</sup> day of March, 2020.

**Res 19-045** – WHEREAS, the Clarke County Compensation Board meets annually to recommend a compensation schedule for elected officials for the fiscal year immediately following, in accordance with Iowa Code Chapters 331.905 and 331.907, and

WHEREAS, the Clarke County Compensation Board met on December 19, 2019, and made the following salary recommendations for the following elected officials for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2020:

Elected Official	<b>Current Salary</b>	Proposed Increase	Recommended Salary
Auditor	\$59,202.08	2.5%	\$60,682.13
Attorney	\$104,877.35	3%	\$108,023.67
Recorder	\$59,157.80	2.5%	\$60,636.75
Sheriff	\$76,376.48	3%	\$78,667.78
Supervisors	\$31,474.78	2%	\$32,104.28
Supervisor Chair	\$32,474.78	2%	\$33,124.28
Treasurer	\$59,202.08	2.5%	\$60,682.13

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE Clarke County Board of Supervisors approves the following salaries for the following elected officials for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2020:

Approved Salary	Approved Increase
\$60,682.13	2.5%
\$108,023.67	3%
\$60,636.75	2.5%
\$78,667.78	3%
\$32,104.28	2%
\$33,124.28	2%
\$60,682.13	2.5%
	\$60,682.13 \$108,023.67 \$60,636.75 \$78,667.78 \$32,104.28 \$33,124.28

Motion made for the foregoing by Marvin McCann, seconded by Larry Keller. Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Marvin McCann and Larry Keller. "Nays": None.

Approved this 9<sup>th</sup> day of March, 2020.

**Res 19-046** – Moved by Larry Keller, seconded by Marvin McCann, to approve the following salary increases for fiscal year 2020-21.

Mark Watsabaugh, Road Maintenance Supervisor, \$1,700 increase to \$66,200; Corey Eckels, Engineer Technician, \$500 increase to \$50,500; Cindy West, Secondary Road Office Manager, \$1,500 increase to \$48,250; Shirley Snell, part-time custodian, \$.50/hr. increase to \$14.90/hr.; Joleen Louder, Recorder Clerk, \$.40/hr. increase to \$15.30/hr.; Kevin Reisetter, Assistant County Attorney, \$1,500 to \$55,500; Jeannie Robbins, County Attorney Secretary, \$1,150 increase to \$50,000; Laura Paxson, Driver License Examiner, \$.50/hr. increase to \$18.45/hr.; Amy Barker, Sheriff Assistant Clerk, \$.60/hr. increase to \$17.60/hr. with dispatch hours at dispatcher rate; and Jodi Carson, Sheriff Clerk, \$1,875 increase to \$42,500; Mary DeLong, Community Services Coordinator, \$1,150 increase to \$47,150.

Vote was: "Ayes": Marvin McCann, Larry Keller and Dean Robins. "Nays": None. Signed this 9<sup>th</sup> day of March, 2020.

**Res 19-047** – Moved by Larry Keller, seconded by Marvin McCann, to approve the salaries of the following deputies as of July 1, 2020.

Deputy Sheriff: Lucas Darby \$66,867.60; Deputy Auditors: Jessica Graves \$51,579.81; Jill Curnes \$51,579.81; Rachel Paulus \$48,545.70; Deputy Treasurers: Jessica Smith \$51,579.81; Brooke Caldwell \$48,545.70; Shelby Hawxby \$48,545.70; and Deputy Recorder: Kelley Luce \$51,541.24.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Marvin McCann and Larry Keller. "Nays": None. Signed this 9<sup>th</sup> day of March, 2020.

**Res 19-048 - PUBLIC HEARING** – The Board of Supervisors met on March 9, 2020 in the Clarke County Courthouse, Board of Supervisor's room, with all members present, for a public hearing for the purpose of consideration of action on the recommendations for a Zoning Ordinance Amendment as proposed by the Clarke County Planning and Zoning Commission.

Moved by Larry Keller to open the hearing at 10:10 A.M., seconded by Marvin McCann. Motion carried.

Those present in addition to the Board members were Auditor Janice White, Zoning Administrator Byron Jimmerson, James Hume, and three representatives from RPMAccess.

There were no objections in person or in writing.

Moved by Marvin McCann to close the hearing. Larry Keller seconded. Motion carried. Hearing closed at 10:15 A.M.

Moved by Larry Keller, seconded by Marvin McCann to waive the 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> readings of the Zoning Ordinance Amendment and to approve the amendment proposed by the Clarke County Planning and Zoning Commission which includes maximum height for Wind Energy to be raised to 650 feet and repealer language for previous ordinances.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Marvin McCann and Larry Keller. "Nays": None.

**Res 19-049** – Moved by Larry Keller, seconded by Marvin McCann, to approve payment of claims submitted from February 24, 2020 through March 9, 2020.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Marvin McCann and Larry Keller. "Nays": None. Signed this 9<sup>th</sup> day of March, 2020.

## Fund Totals for claims as follows:

0001	GENERAL BASIC FUND	52,686.46
0002	GENERAL SUPPLEMENT FUND	2,568.92
0010	MH-DD SERVICES FUND	697.56
0011	RURAL SERVICES BASIC FUND	3,213.58
0020	SECONDARY ROAD FUND	50,200.38
0023	REAP FUND	3,675.00
0025	DRUG FORFEITURE FUND	300.00
4000	EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT FUND	150.00
4100	ASSESSOR	67.86

Having completed agenda items and having no other business, Marvin McCann made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Larry Keller. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

Attest:		
Chairman:		
	Janice M. White, Auditor	Dean Robins, Board of
Supervisors		