Clarke County Board of Supervisors November 8, 2021

November 8, 2021 – The Clarke County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on November 8, 2021, at the Clarke County Courthouse with the following members present: Larry Keller and Austin Taylor. Dean Robins attended by phone. Also present, Auditor Janice White and Veterans Affairs Commissioner Sandy Eddy. Vice-Chairman Larry Keller called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Austin Taylor made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Dean Robins. All Ayes.

Res 21-134 – Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Dean Robins, to approve the hire of Veterans Affairs Director Selena Humphrey, as a permanent part time employee for 23 hours a week at a rate of \$20.00 per hour, starting November 8, 2021.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Larry Keller and Austin Taylor. "Nays": None. Signed this 8th day of November, 2021.

Ms. Eddy left at 9:10 a.m.

Res 21-135 – Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Dean Robins, to approve the proposed amendment to the Electronic Services System 28E Agreement, as approved by the Iowa County Recorders Association Executive Board and by the ESS Coordinating Committee on October 4, 2021, and as executed by Deb Kupka, Tama County Recorder and Chair of the ESS Coordinating Committee on October 11, 2021.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Larry Keller and Austin Taylor. "Nays": None. Signed this 8th day of November, 2021.

Res 21-136 – Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Dean Robins, to order a recount of ballots voted and counted in the City/School Election held November 2, 2021 for City of Osceola Mayor race, as requested by Thomas Kedley.

Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins, Larry Keller and Austin Taylor. "Nays": None. Signed this 8th day of November, 2021.

Res 21-137 – Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Dean Robins, to approve first and second quarter transfer of funds, in the amount of \$32,500, from the General Supplement Fund to the Emergency Management Fund.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Larry Keller and Austin Taylor. "Nays": None. Signed this 8th day of November, 2021.

Res 21-138 – Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Larry Keller, to approve Dean Robins as the member proxy between Clarke County and ICAP (Iowa Communities Assurance Pool); and Larry Keller, as Alternate.

Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins, Larry Keller and Austin Taylor. "Nays": None. Signed this 8th day of November, 2021.

Mr. Robins left at 9:30 a.m.

Res 21-139 – Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Larry Keller, to approve payment of claims submitted from October 26, 2021, through November 8, 2021.

Vote was: "Ayes": Larry Keller and Austin Taylor. "Nays": None. Dean Robins was absent. Signed this 8th day of November, 2021.

Fund Totals for claims as follows:

willis was rolls was	
0001 GENERAL BASIC FUND	46,656.66
0002 GENERAL SUPPLEMENT FUND	10,171.68
0011 RURAL SERVICES BASIC FUND	3,234.58
0020 SECONDARY ROAD FUND	158,581.10

 4000 EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT FUND
 273.43

 4100 ASSESSOR
 11,626.90

 8600 FLEX SPENDING FUND
 175.00

First-Tier Canvass of the Regular City/School Election was held at 11:00 a.m.

The Board of Supervisors and the Clarke County Auditor met in regular session on Monday, November 8, 2021, at 11:00 a.m. and proceeded to hold the first-tier canvass of the votes cast at the Regular City/School Election held on November 2, 2021.

Following are the results for the city offices and declared winners are denoted by *.

OSCEOLA CITY

For Mayor Thomas J. Kedley received 381 votes

Matthew Stoll received 382 votes*

Scattering received 17 votes

For 2nd Ward Council Member Dan Hooper received 182 votes*

Scattering received 6 votes

For 3rd Ward Council Member Thomas Bahls received 270 votes*

Scattering received 4 votes

For Council Member at Large Missy Cline received 358 votes*

Scott McLin received 155 votes Colter Wright received 257 votes

Scattering received 4 votes

MURRAY CITY

For Mayor Pat Collins received 85 votes*

Scattering received 12 votes

For Council Member at Large Sarah Dinham received 79 votes*

(Vote for Two) Alyson Lamastres received 42 votes

Bethany Riemenschneider received 79 votes*

Scattering received 4 votes

WOODBURN CITY

For Mayor Dennis E. Cottrell received 29 votes*

Scattering received 3 votes

For Council Member at Large (Write-in)

(Vote for One) (to fill a vacancy)

James Cowling Sr. received 1 vote Woody Murphy received 2 votes

Karen Parson received 1 vote Brian Pollard received 2 votes James Williams received 1 vote Kris Wright received 3 votes* Scattering received 0 votes

For Council Member at Large

(Vote for Three)

Robert M. Hedrick received 11 votes*

Gary L. Parson received 30 votes*
James Williams received 29 votes*

Scattering received 9 votes

The final totals of the school canvass will be tallied at the second-tier canvass for any races we are the control county for. If we are not the control county, the vote totals will be passed on to the control county for that race.

CLARKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

For Board of Directors, District 2 Brad Lampe received 925 votes

Scattering received 12 votes

For Board of Directors, District 3 Ben Hicks received 783 votes Miles Murphy received 216 votes

Scattering received 5 votes

Robin Galvez received 800 votes For Board of Directors, at Large

Scattering received 21 votes

MURRAY COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

For Board of Directors, at Large Crystal Ashby received 47 votes (Vote for Two) Sherri Chew received 141 votes

Jeanne Klein received 124 votes

Scattering received 4 votes

INTERSTATE 35 SCHOOL DISTRICT For Board of Directors, District 3 Sara Hughes received 8 votes

Monica Strange received 32 votes

Scattering received 0 vote

Melissa Keller received 38 votes For Board of Directors, District 4

Scattering received 0 votes

MORMON TRAIL SCHOOL DISTRICT

For Board of Directors, at Large Andrew Crawford received 0 votes

Jeremy Cromer received 0 votes Scattering received 0 votes

EAST UNION SCHOOL DISTRICT

For Board of Directors, District 5 Desiree Thornton received 0 votes

Scattering received 0 votes

DES MOINES AREA COMMUNITY COLLEGE

For Board of Directors, District 4 Kevin Halterman received 28 votes

Scattering received 1 vote

SOUTHWESTERN COMMUNITY COLLEGE

For Board of Directors, District 1 Jane Ernst received 0 votes

Scattering received 0 votes

For Board of Directors, District 3 Jerry Smith received 778 votes

Scattering received 11 votes

For Board of Directors, District 6 Zach Gunsolley received 200 votes

Scattering received 3 votes

Having no other business, Austin Taylor made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Larry Keller. All

Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 12:00 noon.

Signed: Larry Keller, Vice-Chairman Attest: Janice M. White, Auditor