Clarke County Board of Supervisors December 20, 2021

December 20, 2021 – The Clarke County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on December 20, 2021, at the Clarke County Courthouse with the following members present: Dean Robins and Austin Taylor. Larry Keller was absent. Also present, Auditor Janice White. Chairman Dean Robins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Austin Taylor made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Dean Robins. All Ayes.

- Res 21-156 Moved by Dean Robins, seconded by Austin Taylor to appoint Lorie Cannon, ARNP and Austin Taylor to the Clarke County Board of Health, for three-year terms, ending December 31, 2024. Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins and Austin Taylor. "Nays": None. Larry Keller was absent. Signed this 20th day of December, 2021.
- **Res 21-157** Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Dean Robins to reappoint Sharon Dunfee to the Clarke County Conservation Board for a five-year term ending December 31, 2026.

Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins and Austin Taylor. "Nays": None. Larry Keller was absent. Signed this 20th day of December, 2021.

Supervisor Keller and Emergency Management Coordinator Byron Jimmerson arrived at 11:00 a.m.

Discussion was held on the purchase of an Emergency Management pickup using the American Rescue Plan Act Funds. This will be decided at a later date after more information is gathered.

Res 21-158 – Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Larry Keller, to set a per diem rate of \$50.00 and pay county mileage rate for travel expenses to the Temporary County Redistricting Commission members.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Larry Keller and Austin Taylor. "Nays": None. Signed this 20th day of December, 2021.

Res 21-159 – WHEREAS, Iowa Code section 459.304(3) sets out the procedure if a Board of Supervisors wishes to adopt a "construction evaluation resolution" relating to the construction of a confinement feeding operation structure; and

WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution can submit to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) an adopted recommendation to approve or disapprove a construction permit application regarding a proposed confinement feeding operation structure; and

WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution and submitted an adopted recommendation may contest the DNR's decision regarding a specific application; and

WHEREAS, by adopting a construction evaluation resolution the Board of Supervisors agrees to evaluate every construction permit application for a proposed confinement feeding operation structure received by the Board of Supervisors between February 1, 2022 and January 31, 2023 and submit an adopted recommendation regarding that application to the DNR; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors must conduct an evaluation of every construction permit application using the master matrix created in Iowa Code section 459.305, but the Board's recommendation to the DNR may be based on the final score on the master matrix or may be based on reasons other than the final score on the master matrix:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF CLARKE

COUNTY that the Board of Supervisors hereby adopts this construction evaluation resolution pursuant to Iowa Code section 459.304(3).

Moved by Larry Keller, seconded by Austin Taylor, to adopt the foregoing resolution.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Larry Keller and Austin Taylor. "Nays": None.

Res 21-160 – Moved by Larry Keller, seconded by Austin Taylor that the County Treasurer is authorized to cancel the following Treasurer's checks, totaling \$42.00, in accordance with chapter 331.554.6, Code of Iowa:

<u>Date</u>	Check No.	<u>Amount</u>	<u>Name</u>
5/27/2020	13439	\$ 10.00	Brian Jimenez
8/17/2020	13462	\$ 12.00	Cory Sandage
12/9/2020	13507	\$ 20.00	Teressa Pontier

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Larry Keller and Austin Taylor. "Nays": None. Passed this 20th day of December, 2021.

Res 21-161 – Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Larry Keller, to approve the submission of a Pillars Grant application for Clarke County for help in funding a county wide radio communication system. Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Larry Keller and Austin Taylor. "Nays": None. Signed this 20th day of December, 2021.

Having no other business, Larry Keller made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Austin Taylor. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 11:45 a.m.

Signed: Dean Robins, Chairman Attest: Janice M. White, Auditor