## Clarke County Board of Supervisors January 3, 2022

**January 3, 2022** – The Clarke County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on January 3, 2022, at the Clarke County Courthouse with the following members present: Dean Robins and Larry Keller. Austin Taylor was absent. Also present, Auditor Janice White and Greg Kent. Chairman Dean Robins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Larry Keller made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Dean Robins. All Ayes.

Resolution #22-001 - January 3, 2022 Reorganization: Motion by Larry Keller, seconded by Dean Robins to appoint Dean Robins Chairman for 2022. All Ayes. Austin Taylor was absent. Motion by Dean Robins, seconded by Larry Keller to appoint Larry Keller Vice-Chairman for 2022. All Ayes. Austin Taylor was absent.

The Board will meet every Monday beginning at 9:00 a.m. When there is a holiday on Monday the official meeting will be held the following Wednesday.

Be it resolved by the Board of Supervisors that they will pay expense claims of the county officers, deputies and clerks attending district county officer's meetings and state called school of instructions, for the year in accordance with County policy

The following appointments were made for the year 2022:

- o ADA Coordinator: Austin Taylor
- o Blood Borne Pathogen Coordinator: Holly Rash
- Chariton Valley Transportation Planning Affiliation Policy Board: Dean Robins, Supervisor;
  Larry Keller, Transit. Alternate, Austin Taylor
- Chariton Valley Transportation Planning Affiliation Technical Advisory Committee: Christian Boehmer
- o Conservation Board: Larry Keller
- o CROSS Mental Health Region: Austin Taylor
- o Crossroads Mental Health Board: Dean Robins. Alternate, Austin Taylor
- o DHS Advisory Board: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Larry Keller
- Disaster Coordinator: Dean Robins
- o Disaster Representative: Christian Boehmer
- o E911 Regional Board: Crystal Walker and Austin Taylor
- o Emergency Management Commission: Dean Robins. Alternate, Larry Keller
- o Fair Housing Coordinator: Austin Taylor
- 5<sup>th</sup> Judicial District Department of Correctional Services: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Larry Keller
- o Iowa Communities Assurance Pool: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Dean Robins
- o Iowa Regional Workforce Investment Board: Dean Robins. Alternate, Larry Keller
- o Juvenile Residential Care Board: Larry Keller
- o Landfill Commission: Dean Robins. Alternate, Christian Boehmer
- o Leon Decat Governance Board: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Dean Robins
- o Medical Examiner: George Fotiadis, M.D. Deputy ME, Marty Duffus
- Murray Economic Development Board: Dean Robins
- o Official Newspaper: Osceola Sentinel-Tribune
- o R.E.A.P. Committee: Larry Keller. Alternate, Dean Robins
- o Reservoir Commission: Larry Keller. Alternate, Jack Cooley
- o S.E. Iowa Hazmat Board: Larry Keller. Alternate, Dean Robins
- Safety Loss Control Coordinator: Jessica Conley
- o SCICAP, Inc.: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Larry Keller
- o SICOG (Executive Board): Austin Taylor
- o Transit Advisory Council: Larry Keller. Alternate, Dean Robins

- Workmen's Compensation Designated Medical Provider: Unity Point Family Medicine in Osceola
- o Zoning Administrator: Jessica Conley

Moved by Larry Keller, seconded by Dean Robins, to approve the foregoing resolution. Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins and Larry Keller. "Nays": None. Austin Taylor was absent. Signed this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of January, 2022

Secondary Road Office Manager Cindy West arrived at 9:10 a.m.

Res 22-002 – BE IT RESOLVED BY THE Board of Supervisors of Clarke County, Iowa, that Christian Boehmer, the County Engineer of Clarke County, Iowa, be and is hereby designated, authorized and empowered on behalf of the Board of Supervisors of said County to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance thereof in accordance with plans and specifications in connection with all Farm-to-Market and federal or state aid construction projects in this county.

Moved by Larry Keller, seconded by Dean Robins to approve the foregoing resolution. Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins and Larry Keller. "Nays": None. Austin Taylor was absent. Signed this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of January, 2022.

Right of way purchases and fence reimbursements may be considered at a future date.

Ms. West left at 9:20 a.m.

The appointment of 28 Member Compensation Commission will be decided at a future date.

Res 22-003 – Moved by Larry Keller, seconded by Dean Robins, to approve, in accordance with Iowa Code 331.903, Deputy appointments of the County Auditor – First Deputy Jessica Graves, Deputy Jill Curnes and Deputy Rachel Paulus for three-year terms starting January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2024; Deputy appointment of County Recorder – Deputy Kelley Luce for one-year term starting January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2022; Deputy appointments of County Treasurer - First Deputy Brooke Caldwell and Deputy Shelby Hawxby, for one-year terms starting January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2022.

Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins and Larry Keller. "Nays": None. Austin Taylor was absent. Signed this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of January, 2022.

Redistricting Commissions' supervisor districts and voting precinct plans were presented and discussed.

Having completed agenda items and having no other business, Larry Keller made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Dean Robins. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 9:45 a.m.

Signed: Dean Robins, Chairman Attest: Janice M. White, Auditor