January 3, 2023 - The Clarke County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on January 3, 2023, at the Clarke County Courthouse with the following members present: Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. Austin Taylor was absent. Also present, Auditor Janice White and Osceola Sentinel Editor Candra Brooks. Chairman Dean Robins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Randy Dunbar made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Dean Robins. All Ayes.

<u>Resolution #23-001 - January 3, 2023 Reorganization:</u> Motion by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Dean Robins to appoint Dean Robins Chairman for 2023. All Ayes. Austin Taylor was absent. Motion by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Dean Robins to appoint Austin Taylor Vice-Chairman for 2023. All Ayes. Austin Taylor was absent.

The Board will meet every Monday beginning at 9:00 a.m. When there is a holiday on Monday the official meeting will be held the following Wednesday.

Be it resolved by the Board of Supervisors that they will pay expense claims of the county officers, deputies and clerks attending district county officer's meetings and state called school of instructions, for the year in accordance with County policy

The following appointments were made for the year 2023:

- o ADA Coordinator: Austin Taylor
- Blood Borne Pathogen Coordinator: Nicole Jimmerson
- Chariton Valley Transportation Planning Affiliation Policy Board: Dean Robins, Supervisor; Randy Dunbar, Transit. Alternate, Austin Taylor
- Chariton Valley Transportation Planning Affiliation Technical Advisory Committee: Christian Boehmer
- CROSS Mental Health Region: Austin Taylor
- Crossroads Mental Health Board: Dean Robins. Alternate, Austin Taylor
- o DHS Advisory Board: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- Disaster Coordinator: Dean Robins
- o Disaster Representative: Christian Boehmer
- E911 Regional Board: Austin Taylor and Byron Jimmerson
- o Emergency Management Commission: Dean Robins. Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- Fair Housing Coordinator: Austin Taylor
- 5th Judicial District Department of Correctional Services: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- Iowa Communities Assurance Pool: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Dean Robins
- o Iowa Regional Workforce Investment Board: Dean Robins. Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- o Landfill Commission: Dean Robins. Alternate, Christian Boehmer
- o Leon Decat Governance Board: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Dean Robins
- Medical Examiner: George Fotiadis, M.D. Deputy ME, Marty Duffus, Lori Cannon and Olivia Paige Peckham
- Murray Economic Development Board: Dean Robins
- o Official Newspaper: Osceola Sentinel-Tribune
- Reservoir Commission: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Dean Robins
- S.E. Iowa Hazmat Board: Randy Dunbar. Alternate, Dean Robins
- Safety Loss Control Coordinator: Scott Kent
- o SCICAP, Inc.: Randy Dunbar. Alternate, Austin Taylor
- SICOG (Executive Board): Randy Dunbar
- o Southern Iowa Trolley: Randy Dunbar. Alternate, Dean Robins
- Workmen's Compensation Designated Medical Provider: Unity Point Family Medicine in Osceola

Moved by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Dean Robins, to approve the foregoing resolution. Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Austin Taylor was absent. Signed this 3rd day of January, 2023

Secondary Road Office Manager Cindy West arrived at 9:25 a.m.

Austin Taylor called in to attend the meeting at 9:30 a.m.

Res 23-002 – BE IT RESOLVED BY THE Board of Supervisors of Clarke County, Iowa, that Christian Boehmer, the County Engineer of Clarke County, Iowa, be and is hereby designated, authorized and empowered on behalf of the Board of Supervisors of said County to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance thereof in accordance with plans and specifications in connection with all Farm-to-Market and federal or state aid construction projects in this county.

Moved by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Austin Taylor to approve the foregoing resolution. Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 3rd day of January, 2023.

Res 23-003 – The Board of Supervisors met January 3, 2023, to discuss the purchase of right-of-way in Clarke County for the calendar year 2023.

Austin Taylor moved to set the current land acquisition price 2 ¹/₂ times the assessed valuation for the purchase of all right-of-way and not to pay reimbursement for removal of fences. Also, to pay \$44.00 per rod for replacement fences.

Motion seconded by Randy Dunbar.

Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 3rd day of January, 2023.

Ms. West left at 9:35 a.m.

Members for the 28 Member Compensation Commission will be reviewed and approved at a future date.

Res 23-004 – Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Randy Dunbar, to approve, in accordance with Iowa Code 331.903, Deputy appointment of the County Auditor – Deputy Garla LaFollette for two-year term starting January 1, 2023 through December 31, 2024; Deputy appointments of County Treasurer - First Deputy Brooke Caldwell, Deputy Shelby Hawxby and Deputy Kim Hamilton for four-year terms starting January 1, 2023 through December 31, 2027.

Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 3rd day of January, 2023.

Having no other agenda items, Randy Dunbar made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Dean Robins. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

Signed: Dean Robins, Chairman

Attest: Janice M. White, Auditor