Clarke County Board of Supervisors March 13, 2023

March 13, 2023 - The Clarke County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on March 13, 2023, at the Clarke County Courthouse with the following members present: Dean Robins, Austin Taylor and Randy Dunbar. Also present, Auditor Janice White, Engineer Tech Corey Eckels and Osceola Sentinel Editor Candra Brooks. Chairman Dean Robins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Austin Taylor made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Randy Dunbar. All Ayes.

Res 23-046 - A RESOLUTION TO WITHDRAW FROM THE ARTICLES OF AGREEMENT WHICH FORMED THE WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT CHIEF ELECTED OFFICIAL CONSORTIUM FOR THE WORKFORCE INNOVATION AND OPPORTUNITY ACT OF 2014

WHEREAS, Clarke County previously signed a resolution to approve the Articles of Agreement creating the Workforce Development Chief Elected Official Consortium (CEO) together with 7 other counties in Southwest, Iowa known as the "South West Iowa Local Workforce Development Area" or SWIALWDA; and,

WHEREAS, this 28E Agreement was filed with the lowa Secretary of State on October 2, 2020 and assigned agreement number M512996; and,

WHEREAS, Article 13 of the Agreement allows counties, at their sole option, to withdraw from the Agreement at least 90 days prior to the beginning of the fiscal year (April 1 or any year); and,

WHEREAS, at their meeting on March 2, 2023, the CEO Board discussed the 28E Agreement, weighing the roles and responsibilities of counties as a result of the Agreement and impacts to services offered to their citizens both under the agreement and in absence of the Agreement; and,

WHEREAS, the CEO Board voted 8-0 at this meeting, after this discussion, to dissolve the 28E Agreement.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the Clarke County Board of Supervisors that:

1. It does hereby invoke Article 13 of the Articles of Agreement which formed the Workforce Development Chief Elected Official Consortium for the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014 and withdraws from the Agreement at the end of the day June 30, 2023.

2. It understands and is its intention withdrawal of the Agreement by all 8 counties will terminate the Agreement.

Motion made by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Austin Taylor to approve the above resolution.

Vote was "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None, Passed and approved this 13th day of March, 2023.

Sheriff Rob Kovacevich arrived at 9:05.

Res 23-047 - Moved by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Dean Robins, to approve and sign Employment Agreement as a stipulation for hiring Justin Fox as a deputy sheriff, as a result of his residence being located outside of Clarke County and his use of a county vehicle.

Vote was "Ayes": Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": Austin Taylor. Signed this 13th day of March, 2023.

Res 23-048 - Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Randy Dunbar to approve Sheriff Kovacevich's hiring of Justin Fox as a deputy sheriff, beginning March 20, 2023, at a starting salary of \$59,072.00.

Vote was "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 13th day of March, 2023.

Sheriff Kovacevich left at 9:10.

Res 23-049 - Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Randy Dunbar to set April 10, 2023, at 9:00 a.m. as the date and time for material letting for Project L-CO20(C1321)—73-20 a bridge project on Robert Street in Section 10 of Washington Township.

Vote was "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 13th day of March, 2023.

Mr. Eckels left at 9:15 a.m.

Res 23-50 - Moved by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Austin Taylor, to approve payment of claims submitted from March 7, 2023 through March 13, 2023.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor and Randy Dunbar. "Nays"; None. Signed this 13th day of March, 2023.

Fund totals for claims as follows:	
0001 GENERAL BASIC FUND	27,402.95
0002 GENERAL SUPPLEMENT FUND	336.78
0011 RURAL SERVICES BASIC FUND	31.00
0020 SECONDARY ROAD FUND	123,714.68
4000 EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT FUND	120.03
4100 ASSESSOR	2,982.27

Having no other agenda items, Randy Dunbar made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Austin Taylor. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

Signed: Dean Robins, Chairman

Attest: Janice M. White, Auditor