## Clarke County Board of Supervisors January 3, 2024

**January 3, 2024** - The Clarke County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on January 3, 2024 at the Clarke County Courthouse with the following members present: Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. Austin Taylor attended by phone. Also present, Auditor Janice White and Osceola Sentinel Editor Candra Brooks. Chairman Dean Robins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Randy Dunbar made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Dean Robins. All Ayes.

Resolution #24-001 - January 3, 2024 Reorganization: Motion by Dean Robins to appoint Randy Dunbar as Chairman for 2024. Motion died for lack of a second. Dean Robins then moved to appoint Austin Taylor as Chairman for 2024, seconded by Randy Dunbar. All Ayes. Motion by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Austin Taylor to appoint Dean Robins Vice-Chairman for 2024. All Ayes.

The Board will meet every Monday beginning at 9:00 a.m. When there is a holiday on Monday the official meeting will be held the following Wednesday.

Be it resolved by the Board of Supervisors that they will pay expense claims of the county officers, deputies and clerks attending district county officer's meetings and state called school of instructions, for the year in accordance with County policy

The following appointments were made for the year 2024:

- o ADA Coordinator: Austin Taylor
- o Blood Borne Pathogen Coordinator: Nicole Jimmerson
- Chariton Valley Transportation Planning Affiliation Policy Board: Dean Robins,
   Supervisor; Randy Dunbar, Transit. Alternate, Austin Taylor
- Chariton Valley Transportation Planning Affiliation Technical Advisory Committee: David Carroll
- o Conservation Board Ex Officio: Randy Dunbar
- o CROSS Mental Health Region: Austin Taylor
- o Crossroads Mental Health Board: Dean Robins. Alternate, Austin Taylor
- o DHS Advisory Board: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- o Disaster Coordinator: Dean Robins
- o Disaster Representative: David Carroll
- o E911 Regional Board: Austin Taylor and Byron Jimmerson
- o Emergency Management Commission: Dean Robins. Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- o Fair Housing Coordinator: Austin Taylor
- 5<sup>th</sup> Judicial District Department of Correctional Services: Austin Taylor.
   Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- o Iowa Communities Assurance Pool: Adam Ramsey. Alternate, Austin Taylor
- o Landfill Commission: Dean Robins. Alternate, Austin Taylor
- o Leon Decat Governance Board: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Dean Robins
- Medical Examiner: George Fotiadis, M.D. Deputy ME, Marty Duffus, Lori Marker and Olivia Paige Peckham

- o Murray Economic Development Board: Dean Robins
- o Official Newspaper: Osceola Sentinel-Tribune
- o Reservoir Commission: Austin Taylor. Alternate, Dean Robins
- o S.E. Iowa Hazmat Board: Randy Dunbar. Alternate, Dean Robins
- o Safety Loss Control Coordinator: Scott Kent
- o SCICAP, Inc.: Randy Dunbar. Alternate, Austin Taylor
- o SICOG (Executive Board): Randy Dunbar
- o Southern Iowa Trolley: Randy Dunbar. Alternate, Dean Robins
- Workmen's Compensation Designated Medical Provider: Unity Point Family Medicine in Osceola

Moved by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Austin Taylor, to approve the foregoing resolution.

Vote was, "Ayes": Austin Taylor, Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of January, 2024.

Engineer David Carroll arrived at 9:25 a.m.

**Res 24-002 -** BE IT RESOLVED BY THE Board of Supervisors of Clarke County, Iowa, that David Carroll, the County Engineer of Clarke County, Iowa, be and is hereby designated, authorized, and empowered on behalf of the Board of Supervisors of said County to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance thereof in accordance with plans and specifications in connection with all Farm-to-Market and federal or state aid construction projects in this county.

Moved by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Dean Robins to approve the foregoing resolution. Vote was, "Ayes": Austin Taylor, Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of January, 2024.

**Res 24-003 -** The Board of Supervisors met January 3, 2024, to discuss the purchase of right-of-way in Clarke County for the calendar year 2024.

Austin Taylor moved to set the current land acquisition price 2 ½ times the assessed valuation for the purchase of all right-of-way and not to pay reimbursement for removal of fences. Also, to pay \$44.00 per rod for replacement fences.

Motion seconded by Randy Dunbar.

Vote was, "Ayes": Austin Taylor, Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of January, 2024.

Conservation Director Scott Kent arrived at 9:30 a.m.

**Res 24-004 -** Moved by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Dean Robins to set January 22, 2024 at 9:00 a.m. as the date and time for fuel letting.

Vote was: "Ayes": Austin Taylor, Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of January, 2024.

Engineer Carroll left at 9:35 a.m.

Conservation Director left at 9:45 a.m.

**Res 24-005 -** Moved by Dean Robins, seconded by Randy Dunbar, to approve the following list of 28 residents of Clarke County, Iowa, to be members of the Compensation Commission appointed to assess damages in condemnation proceedings as required by section 6B.4 of the Code of Iowa.

Vote was, "Ayes": Austin Taylor, Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None.

<u>City or Property Owners:</u> Colter Wright, Osceola; Dale Neas, Osceola; Marvin McCann,
Osceola; Dennis Doran, Osceola; Leslie Keller, Osceola; and Randy Wright, Woodburn.

Owner-Operator of Agricultural Property; Jerod Flaherty, Osceola; Linda Bachman, Osceola; Randy Brown, Osceola, Terry Cummings, Woodburn; George Dutrey, Woodburn; Harley Pippin, Woodburn; Larry Keller, Osceola; Greg Kent, Osceola; and Brian Fuller, Osceola.

<u>Real Estate Salespersons or Brokers:</u> Janice VanWinkle, Woodburn; Betty Craig, Osceola; Judy Moore, Osceola; Ed Buesch, Osceola; Cassie Hessler, Osceola; Paula McClaflin, Osceola; and Brett Smith, Murray.

Others with Knowledge of Property Values by Occupation: Teresa Woods, Osceola;

; Vicky Halvorsen, Osceola; Rick Oshel, Osceola;

; and Deleth Halvorsen, Osceola.

Signed this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of January, 2024.

Insurance Agent Doug Miller arrived at 9:55 a.m.

After discussion regarding the insurance coverage, the insurance renewal will wait until next week when more information will be available.

Mr. Miller left at 10:00 a.m.

**Res 24-006** - Moved by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Dean Robins, to approve payment of claims submitted from December 28, 2023 through January 3, 2024.

Vote was: "Ayes": Austin Taylor, Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of January, 2024.

Fund totals for claims as follows:

0001 GENERAL BASIC FUND 1,848.22 0002 GENERAL SUPPLEMENT FUND 1,369.00

Having no other agenda items, Randy Dunbar made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Dean Robins. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 10:10 a.m.

Signed: Dean Robins, Chairman Attest: Janice M. White, Auditor