Clarke County Board of Supervisors December 18, 2023

December 18, 2023 - The Clarke County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on December 18, 2023, at the Clarke County Courthouse with the following members present: Dean Robins, Austin Taylor, and Randy Dunbar. Also present, Auditor Janice White and Conservation Director Scott Kent. Chairman Dean Robins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Randy Dunbar made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Austin Taylor. All Ayes.

Clarke County Conservation Board member appointment will be decided at the next meeting.

Mr. Kent left at 9:10 a.m.

Sheriff Rob Kovacevich arrived at 9:10 a.m.

Permanent parttime status for Richard Thomas will be voted on at the next meeting.

Sheriff Kovacevich left at 9:20 a.m.

CONSTRUCTION EVALUATION RESOLUTION #23-226

WHEREAS, Iowa Code section 459.304(3) sets out the procedure if a Board of Supervisors wishes to adopt a "construction evaluation resolution" relating to the construction of a confinement feeding operation structure; and

WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution can submit to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) an adopted recommendation to approve or disapprove a construction permit application regarding a proposed confinement feeding operation structure; and

WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution and submitted an adopted recommendation may contest the DNR's decision regarding a specific application; and

WHEREAS, by adopting a construction evaluation resolution the Board of Supervisors agrees to evaluate every construction permit application for a proposed confinement feeding operation structure received by the Board of Supervisors between February 1, 2024 and January 31, 2025 and submit an adopted recommendation regarding that application to the DNR; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors must conduct an evaluation of every construction permit application using the master matrix created in Iowa Code section 459.305, but the Board's recommendation to the DNR may be based on the final score on the master matrix or may be based on reasons other than the final score on the master matrix;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF CLARKE COUNTY that the Board of Supervisors hereby adopts this construction evaluation resolution pursuant to Iowa Code section 459.304(3).

Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Randy Dunbar, to adopt the foregoing resolution. Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor, and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None.

Res 23-227 - Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Randy Dunbar, to approve appropriation in Service Area 9 from the Board of Supervisors Department to the Mental Health Department in the amount of \$7,000.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor, and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 18th day of December, 2023.

Res 23-228 - Moved by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Austin Taylor, to approve transfer of funds from the General Fund to the Mental Health Subfund in the amount of \$7,000. Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor, and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 18th day of December, 2023.

Res 23-229 - Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Randy Dunbar, to approve payment of claims submitted from December 12, 2023 through December 18, 2023. Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor, and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor, and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 18th day of December, 2023.

Fund totals for claims as follows:

0001	GENERAL BASIC FUND	38,670.36
0002	GENERAL SUPPLEMENT FUND	9,065.75
0003	AMERICAN RESCUE PLAN	23,380.00
0011	RURAL SERVICES BASIC FUND	3,254.37
0020	SECONDARY ROAD FUND	35,217.22

Res 23-230 - Moved by Austin Taylor, seconded by Randy Dunbar, to approve and sign a Purchase Agreement and Seller Disclosure for 144 West Jefferson Street, Osceola, Iowa. Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor, and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 18th day of December, 2023.

Res 23-231 - Moved by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Austin Taylor, to approve the disbursement of funds from the American Rescue Plan Act to Motorola Solutions for one-year annual maintenance fee of \$23,380.

Vote was: "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor, and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 18th day of December, 2023.

Having no other agenda items, Randy Dunbar made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Austin Taylor. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 11:17 a.m.

Signed: Dean Robins, Chairman