Clarke County Board of Supervisors July 22, 2024

July 22, 2024 - The Clarke County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on July 22, 2024 at the Clarke County Courthouse with the following members present: Austin Taylor, Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. Also present, Auditor Janice White, Osceola Sentinel Editor Candra Brooks, Jim Hume, Don Heck, Assistant County Attorney Johanna Olson and County Attorney Office Manager Chris Dorsey. Chairman Austin Taylor called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Dean Robins made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Randy Dunbar. All Ayes.

Res 24-138 - Moved by Dean Robins, seconded by Austin Taylor, to approve Southern Iowa Trolley's request for county support for fiscal year 2025, in the amount of \$11,923.

Vote was: "Ayes": Austin Taylor, Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 22nd day of July, 2024.

Res 24-139 - WHEREAS, the State of Iowa has appropriated moneys for the fiscal year July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025 and

WHEREAS, said moneys can be insufficient to fund the various local property tax credits/exemptions fully, and

WHEREAS, according to Iowa Code Section 25B.7 "If a state appropriation made to fund a credit or exemption which is enacted on or after January 1, 1997, is not sufficient to fully fund the credit or exemption, the political subdivision shall be required to extend to the taxpayer only that portion of the credit or exemption estimated by the Department of Revenue and Finance to be funded by the state appropriation", and

WHEREAS, the Iowa Department of Revenue and Finance has estimated the percentages of state funding for the affected property tax credits/exemptions as follows: Homestead and Disabled Veterans credit 100%, Elderly low-income credit 100%, Ag Land credit 21.1947745% and Family Farm credit 15.6140022%

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Supervisors of Clarke County, Iowa, that pursuant to Iowa Code Section 25B.7, to extend to the taxpayer property tax credits/exemptions as funded by the State of Iowa according to the percentages stated above for the fiscal year 2025-26.

Moved by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Austin Taylor, that this resolution be adopted. Vote was, "Ayes": Dean Robins, Austin Taylor and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 22nd day of July, 2024.

Chief Deputy Brian Akers arrived at 9:18 a.m.

The Supervisors did not need to approve an acting county attorney designation as Iowa Rules of Criminal Procedures 2.5 state that the assistant county prosecutor can continue to sign documents for existing criminal cases and for new crimes.

Attorney Olson and Mr. Dorsey left at 9:25 a.m.

Mr. Hume and Mr. Heck left at 9:28 a.m.

Deputy Akers left at 9:35 a.m.

Moved by Dean Robins, seconded by Randy Dunbar, to approve payment of claims submitted from July 16, 2024 through July 22, 2024.

Vote was: "Ayes": Austin Taylor, Dean Robins and Randy Dunbar. "Nays": None. Signed this 22nd day of July, 2024.

Fund totals for claims as follows: 0001 GENERAL BASIC FUND	44.468.51
0002 GENERAL SUPPLEMENT FUND	220.02
0020 SECONDARY ROAD FUND	2,600.49

Having no other agenda items, Randy Dunbar made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Dean Robins. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 9:45 a.m.

Signed: Austin Taylor, Chairman

Attest: Janice M. White, Auditor