Clarke County Board of Supervisors January 2, 2025

January 2, 2025 - The Clarke County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on January 2, 2025 at the Clarke County Courthouse with the following members present: Dean Robins, Randy Dunbar, and Brian Sorensen. Also present, Auditor Jessica Graves and Osceola Sentinel Editor Candra Brooks. Vice-Chairman Dean Robins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Randy Dunbar made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Brian Sorensen. All Ayes.

Candra Brooks left at 9:45 a.m.

Resolution #25-001 - January 2, 2025 Reorganization: Motion by Dean Robins to appoint Randy Dunbar as Chairman for 2025, seconded by Brian Sorensen. All Ayes. Motion by Randy Dunbar, seconded by Brian Sorensen to appoint Dean Robins Vice-Chairman for 2025. All Ayes.

The Board will meet every Monday beginning at 9:00 a.m. When there is a holiday on Monday the official meeting will be held the following Wednesday.

Be it resolved by the Board of Supervisors that they will pay expense claims of the county officers, deputies and clerks attending district county officer's meetings and state called school of instructions, for the year in accordance with County policy.

The following appointments were made for the year 2025:

- ADA Coordinator: Brian Sorensen
- Blood Borne Pathogen Coordinator: Nicole Jimmerson
- Chariton Valley Transportation Planning Affiliation Policy Board: Dean Robins, Supervisor; Brian Sorensen, Transit. Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- Chariton Valley Transportation Planning Affiliation Technical Advisory Committee: Corey Eckels
- Conservation Board Ex Officio: Randy Dunbar
- Crossroads Mental Health Board: Dean Robins. Alternate, Brian Sorensen
- Disaster Coordinator: Dean Robins
- Disaster Representative: Corey Eckels
- E911 Regional Board: Byron Jimmerson and Brian Akers
- Emergency Management Commission: Dean Robins. Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- Fair Housing Coordinator: Brian Sorensen
- 5th Judicial District Department of Correctional Services: Brian Sorensen. Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- Iowa Communities Assurance Pool: Johanna Olson. Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- Landfill Commission: Dean Robins. Alternate, Brian Sorensen
- Leon Decat Governance Board: Brian Sorensen. Alternate, Dean Robins

- Medical Examiner: George Fotiadis, M.D. Deputy ME, Marty Duffus, Lori Marker and Olivia Paige Peckham
- Murray Economic Development Board: Dean Robins
- Official Newspaper: Osceola Sentinel-Tribune
- Reservoir Commission: Brian Sorensen. Alternate, Dean Robins
- S.E. Iowa Hazmat Board: Randy Dunbar. Alternate, Dean Robins
- Safety Loss Control Coordinator: Scott Kent
- SCICAP, Inc.: Brian Sorensen. Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- SICOG (Executive Board): Randy Dunbar
- Southern Iowa Trolley: Brian Sorensen. Alternate, Randy Dunbar
- Workmen's Compensation Designated Medical Provider: Unity Point Family Medicine in Osceola

Moved by Dean Robins, seconded by Brian Sorensen, to approve the foregoing resolution. Vote was, "Ayes": Randy Dunbar, Dean Robins and Brian Sorensen. "Nays": None. Signed this 2nd day of January, 2025

Res 25-002 - BE IT RESOLVED BY THE Board of Supervisors of Clarke County, Iowa, that Christian Boehmer, the Interim County Engineer of Clarke County, Iowa, be and is hereby designated, authorized, and empowered on behalf of the Board of Supervisors of said County to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance thereof in accordance with plans and specifications in connection with all Farm-to-Market and federal or state aid construction projects in this county.

Moved by Dean Robins, seconded by Brian Sorensen to approve the foregoing resolution. Vote was, "Ayes": Randy Dunbar, Dean Robins and Brian Sorensen. "Nays": None. Signed this 2nd day of January, 2025.

Res 25-003 - The Board of Supervisors met January 2, 2025, to discuss the purchase of right-of-way in Clarke County for the calendar year 2025.

Brian Sorensen moved to set the current land acquisition price 2 ½ times the assessed valuation for the purchase of all right-of-way and not to pay reimbursement for removal of fences. Also, to pay \$58.00 per rod for replacement fences.

Motion seconded by Dean Robins.

Vote was, "Ayes": Randy Dunbar, Dean Robins and Brian Sorensen. "Nays": None. Signed this 2nd day of January, 2025.

Res 25-004 - Moved by Brian Sorensen, seconded by Dean Robins, to approve the following list of 28 residents of Clarke County, Iowa, to be members of the Compensation Commission appointed to assess damages in condemnation proceedings as required by section 6B.4 of the Code of Iowa.

Vote was, "Ayes": Randy Dunbar, Dean Robins and Brian Sorenson. "Nays": None.

<u>City or Property Owners:</u> Colter Wright, Osceola; Dale Neas, Osceola; Marvin McCann,
Osceola; Dennis Doran, Osceola; Leslie Keller, Osceola; and Randy Wright, Woodburn.

Owner-Operator of Agricultural Property: Jerod Flaherty, Osceola; Linda Bachman, Osceola; Randy Brown, Osceola, Terry Cummings, Woodburn; George Dutrey, Woodburn; Harley Pippin, Woodburn; Larry Keller, Osceola; Greg Kent, Osceola; and Brian Fuller, Osceola.

Real Estate Salespersons or Brokers: Janice VanWinkle, Woodburn; Betty Craig,
Osceola; Judy Moore, Osceola; Ed Buesch, Osceola; Cassie Hessler, Osceola; Paula McClaflin
Osceola; and Brett Smith, Murray.
Others with Knowledge of Property Values by Occupation: Teresa Woods, Osceola;
; Vicky Halvorsen, Osceola; Rick Oshel, Osceola;
; and Deleth Halvorsen, Osceola.
Signed this 2 nd day of January, 2025.

Having no other agenda items, Brian Sorensen made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Dean Robins. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

Signed: Randy Dunbar - Chairman Attest: Jessica Graves, Auditor